Thursday, May 21, 2009

Day 14: Battle Creek Falls Hike

I have this ridiculous need for adventure and a drive to get out and do something fun (despite the fact that I have such small children). I'm also very spontaneous. I usually get up in the morning and decide to do something. It's great for my kids, but not so great when I'm trying to find people to go with me on these adventures. I'm many of you have gotten phone calls from me early in the morning saying, "hey do you want to go...?".

Well this morning was no different and I decided to go do the Battle Creek Falls hike by myself. I tried several people to go with me, but all said no, so I decided to try it on my own. I packed the girl's backpacks with a snack, water bottle, hiking hat, and we were off. Once we got there and got on the trail, I got a little nervous. I wasn't sure where we were going and I felt a little like bear baite. The thoughts kept running through my mind of how I was going to protect my little ones if something (or in our days...someone) tried to attack us. I know, I'm super paranoid about stuff like that. The fact that I started passing men on the way down with guns on their backs didn't help. Was there something I was supposed to know? I asked them if they killed all the bears, and they said they had saved them for me. Thanks guys, way to calm my nerves.Julianne was not thrilled with being in the baby carrier and after about five minutes she let me know by screaming and squirming the rest of the trip. Sophia was a trooper, but Gabriela was a different story. She woke up exceptionally whiny this morning and that was part of the reason I had to get out of the house, but once on the trial, the whining increased. She lagged behind and said she couldn't walk that fast and was a real delite let me tell ya.

At about half way up the trail got pretty steep. The girls eventually ditched their backpacks on Mom and they pressed forward. We made it a little beyond the lower falls and I was sweating like a crazy woman. You would be too if you were carrying an extra thirty pounds on ya. I decided we better turn around before we get too far in and I would have to carry all three out of the canyon. That's when it really got interesting. I was so steep and we were on a dirt and rock trail that the girls got feaked out. They wanted to hold my hand. Here's the part where I really wish I had a picture. There is me with my screaming baby strapped to my chest thrashing about, a child's backpack over each shoulder and a child in each hand trying not to break my neck or go sliding down the mountain side. I actually stopped and said a prayer to ask the Lord to get us down safe and sane! To hold the earth under my feet! We made it down o.k. and we actually stopped and had a snack and some water on the way down. We met up with Miguel for lunch at Sonic and he justs laughs at me and smiles as I'm telling him about my adventure. He asks, "Why do you do these things to yourself ? You just ask for it." To be honest, I don't know, but I sure felt like super mom coming down that mountain and felt like I was getting stronger. We got out and had an experience and at least at the end of my life I won't have any regrets. I can say I made the most out of my time on earth...even if it causes my hair to grow grey and fall out.

Tuesday, May 19, 2009

Day 13: Backyard Obstacle Course/ Mexican Painting

I decided to make the girls an obstacle course in the backyard after watching them roam around not knowing what to do with themselves. It took a lot of creativity, but as I looked around our backyard I came up with a few ideas. I'm sure it could be better and yours would be much better than mine. We started by filling up a flower pot with dirt and running and dumping it in a bucket. Then you had to run up the makeshift ladder and slide down the slide.




You had to jump over a bunch of things and run around trees before you got to this creation. Walk up the plank and then jump off.

Then go cross the balance beam.
And you're done. Poor Sophia got stuck on filling her flower pot, so it wasn't much of a race. They enjoyed anyways.
We then did our Mexican paintings that were suppost to be done on Cinco de Mayo. They are suppost to mimick the art done in Mexicao on crushed tree bark. See Family Fun magazine's May issue for more details. Anyways, you cut the back out of a paper bag from the grocery store. Get it wet and crickle it up into a ball. Undo it and lay flat to dry. Once completely dry let the kids paint.







Monday, May 18, 2009

Day 12: Family Camping

Our ward had a family campout on Friday and I was so excited. I love camping! That is until the bear got the little boy in American Fork canyon a couple of years ago. That was a little too close to home for me and took my enthusiasm right out. I got the girls all pumped up about it. Gabriela initially told me she didn't want to go because there was bats and monsters out there. After calming her fears, and without bringing up bears, they were excited too. It turned out great, especially for me, because I went home and put Julianne to bed for fear she would get too cold, an went back in the morning for breakfast. I just love being in the middle of nowhere with beautiful surroundings. It simplifies things. Love it. This was the best idea ever. I threw her walker in last minute and she cruised all evening on the huge cement slab. Way to go Mom.

Sophia's form of entertainment the whole time.
I would have gotten better pictures, but my memory card was full.


Friday, May 15, 2009

Day 11: Dinosaurs and Pony Rides

I'm a little behind on this post, but on Wed. we went to Thanksgiving Point Dinosaur Museum and to Farm Country. Gabriela was beside herself with excitement and she was so well behaved. I tried a new rule for her and it actually worked. I only lost her once...that's good for me. There are so many fun things to do there. Once I reassured them that the dinosaurs aren't alive and real, they settled in and had a great time. Here, they got to build their own dinosaur. This was my attempt at a scary picture. They weren't so into it.

There is an area where they have tons of dinosaurs to play with and Julianne was happy to get out of the stroller and get in on the action.




They have dinosaur dress ups.
This is the place where they can play in the water and sand and little mini dinosaurs. Our only problem was that there were these large school groups with older kids. The girls has to stand their ground or risk being pushed over.


The giant shark at the end. Gabriela's giving you her scared face.
They even got to dig for dinosaur bones.

Afterwards we headed over to farm country for a pony ride. Sophia thought that was fantastic. I decided I had done enough picture taking for one day and left the camera in the car. I know we'll go back so pictures there will be. The girls were great and we had a good time. On a side note, whenever you go up there, bring a jacket. It's so windy and gets pretty chilly.

Tuesday, May 12, 2009

Day 10: The Stroller Parade

This morning I had to meet at the church to get the 411 on my new calling...1st councelor in the Primary presidency. Woohoo!!! I decided to walk there and let the girls walk too. I thought that we all could use the excercise. I invited them to grab their baby dolls and their strollers and they could take their babies on a walk. If you live close to us, you probably heard us coming. Those little plastic wheels are quite noisy on the pavement. I couldn't believe Sophia actually walked as far as she did (actually I think she ran most of the way to try to keep up), but it was so fun to see them pushing their babies along.

Monday, May 11, 2009

Day 9: Digging in the Dirt

I've been wanting to plant some flowers really bad, and I lucked up yesterday on Mother's Day. I ended up getting a whole flat of pansies at church (they were the extra they had after giving them to all the Moms). I was so excited and the girls got out this morning and planted them. Gabriela was all about it. I couldn't believe she did it all by herself. Sophia found the worms and then would say,"Uh oh Mommy, it broke!" She had a piece of worm in each hand. Woops! The girls loved having the little pots they came in too and went to the backyard to fill them with dirt. I love the sight of a dirty little kid who's been playing in the dirt. Seriously! The first worm she found.






Friday, May 8, 2009

Day 8: Tulip Festival at Thanksgiving Point

So today we decided to hed to Thanksgiving Point. I've been contemplating getting a pass because I think there are so many fun things to do there and today was the day we decided to jump on it. Problem was, we couldn't decide what to do first. Gabriela has been begging to go to the Dinosaur Museum, I knew Sophia would like the farm, but I kind of wanted to see the tulips before it ended next week. After debating it the whole 25 minute drive we decided to hed to the gardens.
I would like all of you mothers out there who might read this to know that just because I attempt all of these activities, doesn't mean they run smoothly. The gardens are about 55 acres and I spent the entire three hours yelling for my children to come back. It became so frustrating, especially with Gabriela. That child is such a free spirit. She found the first little girls she could find and then Mom was history. She could care less if I was around and probably would prefer if I just dropped her off at the door. Isn't that supposed to happen when they are teenagers...not 4!!! The problem I have is that her 2 year old sister is right behind her and Gabriela does not keep track of her. We eventually stopped for lunch and I had to prevent Sophia from chucking her lunch into the wishing fountain, or to stop pulling up the tulips (bulb and all), or to not pluck the flower petals off, well you get the idea. I think I gave Gabriela a huge lecture and guilt trip the whole ride back. Luckily, I threw them all in bed when we got home, so I'll have an hour or two to recuperate before the fun starts again. Oh, the gardens are beautiful and the kids did have fun running to their heart's content.







Does this remind you of anyone? I think Eve and Gabriela have a lot in common. Independant thinkers, not very good at obeying, usually blame their disobedience on something else. Just kidding.



Gabriela wanted to pretend to be Sleeping Beauty, but Julianne wasn't interested in kissing her.
No worries though. Sophia came running to the rescue and gave her a big smackeroo.

Thursday, May 7, 2009

Day 7: The Library

So this is what I found this morning! I could hear my munchkins in the living room, but when they are hiding out behind the couch, it is rarely a good sign. Much to my pleasant surprise they had taken all of their library books back there and were looking through them. That is eye candy for any Mom! I even stopped what I was doing, climbed back there with them, and read a few of the books to them. Yeah for me, for stopping to smell the roses, if you know what I mean. Three kids fed and two fully dressed by 9:00...we're doing pretty good. Sophia is usually last to get with the program.
We hit the library yesterday morning hoping to catch storytime, but apparently they're not holding it in May. We did come home with a bag full of boooks, videos, and even a children's c.d. I would highly recommend using your local library, especially if you live in Utah. They have amazing children's programs. I'm probably preaching to the choir. but as parents we should be reading at least twenty minutes a day to our kids. I am by no means there, but it is a worthy goal. Gabriela often reminds me, "Mommy, remember, Dr. Farnsworth says we HAVE to read books."

Wednesday, May 6, 2009

I think it's working!

I just wanted to post a few feelings I have about this little experiment of mine. I have this image of the kind of Mom I want to be and it's been bugging me for a while, because I felt like I wasn't getting there. Over the last week or so, I finally feel like I'm making progress and I guess it's because I quit analyzing the problem and started taking action. Today I felt true happiness and contentment in myself knowing that things may not be perfect or every activity may not be bliss, but I'm one tiny step closer to my goal than I was yesterday.
I think this realization hit today when someone asked me if I was going to audition Gabriela for the dance team. My first impulse is to want to do it, but then I thought of the hours we would spend sitting at the dance school and Julianne and Sophia having to endure it with me. I was actually more excited about all the fun things I want to do with all three of them and the fun we've been having. That's it! That's the feeling I've been looking for for the past couple of years! I'm enjoying my children and I feel successful as a Mom. I'm looking for ways for us to spend time together and my husband actually said "Thank You," last night for helping them celebrate Cinco de Mayo. I was so happy and that little acknowledgment was worth all the effort. I'm loving my life right now. Hooray!!!

Tuesday, May 5, 2009

Day 6: Celebrating Cinco de Mayo

So my photos are backwards, but that's o.k. Today is Cinco de Mayo and I have never officially celebrated it before. Miguel has told me that more Americans celebrated than actual Mexicans. Just so you know, it's not their Independence Day. It actually is a celebration of a victory over the French, I believe, in a town called Puebla. Miguel gave us an impromptu history lesson while we waited for our cookies to bake. I figured since my girls are half Hispanic I better get on board with this holiday. I decided we should go and have authentic Mexican tacos at a taco shop and the girls and I got suited up in our Mexican paraphernalia. We then headed home to make these festive treats. They are sombrero cookies. Such a cute idea thanks to familyfun.com! All you need are white gumdrops, sugar cookies, frosting, and the red, green, and white beadlike sprinkles. Easy enough, right? We were going to do Mexican paintings, but it was getting late so we'll have something to do tomorrow. You'll love this craft idea so stay tuned. Gabriela and Sophia loving their sweet treat. I think their attire is so festive. We got these when we took Gabriela to Mexico two years ago.

Julianne loved the cookies too. Her face is red because she was crying two seconds before I took the picture. I was laughing at her dirty face and she got her feelings hurt. Such a sensitive soul!

Laboring away trying to make the perfect sombrero.
I think I've got it.




Oh and we put on some Mexican music to livin up the place which also resulted in an impromptu polka lesson with Papi. What can we say...we are a house full of dancers. We can't help it!
Happy Cinco De Mayo everyone.




Sunday, May 3, 2009

Day 5: Goin' on a Magic Carpet Ride!

I got this idea from a book I'm reading, which I'll blog about at a later date, and thought it was so fun. We are developing a new night time ritual which makes the girls excited to get in bed. We call it, "going on a magic carpet ride," and they get to choose a country to visit from the atlas. I knew I wanted to do this activity, so while I was at Costco, I poked around in their book section and I found this great little treasure. It is a kids Atlas and it does the work for us Moms. It had a map in the beginning and then after they choose which country to visit you just find it in the book and it gives you all the facts and details with pictures for you to teach your kids. Easy enough, right? My kids personally don't care about the history or economy, but they love the animals and the weather stuff. Last night we flew to Brazil and tonight we were on to South Africa. It is a lot of fun and I learn along with them. It's so nice to see them excited to go to bed and ask me about it in the evening...that justs means they like it. So snuggle up in bed and see where your kids will take you! They might even win the geography bee one day.

Day 4: Making Homemade Pizzas

My girls really enjoy this culinary craft. I actually found these individual pizza crusts (pack of 4) in the bakery section at Macey's grocery store this week and thought the girls would like doing this. Sophia was really excited and did the "one for the pizza...two for my mouth" with the pepperonies, but I guess that's the perk of making your own pizza. They seem way more excited about eating lunch when they feel they've had a hand in it. Oh, and by the way, those aren't gross looking worms on the pizzas. They are carmelized onions...my new obsession. YUM!!!